Banana Bread with Crumb Topping

Hello, today I thought I would share a recipe with you all. I love banana bread and I have tried many different recipes from my great grandmas to the current recipe floating around blog land. Last night I had some bananas that were just sitting on the counter begging to be made into some delicious bread. I knew I wanted to try to make something like a muffin with out all the scooping into muffin tins. Yes, I know lazy but like I said it was late and I was wanting find something quick and easy. A  search for banana bread with topping led me here to this heavenly recipe. I am not even joking. This bread turned out to be just what I had been looking for. It was extremely moist and the crumb topping added a nice sweetness to this bread. I do have to say the topping wasn’t like a crumb topping on a muffin but this is still my new go to recipe for banana bread. Sorry I didn’t get any beautiful pictures to go along with this post because the family felt the same way about this recipe and as soon as the ten minute cooling time had past butter was smothered atop the warm slices of bread and devoured. With their  mouths full the kids agreed this recipe was a keeper. I slightly changed the recipe so I added my changes to this recipe below.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 stick butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Topping

  • 1 Tablespoon flour
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon butter, at room temperature

Instructions

  1.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Grease and flour one loaf pan.
  3. In a large bowl mix flour, sugars, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Mix well.
  4. Add melted butter, buttermilk, and egg. Mix well.
  5. Add mashed bananas and vanilla extract. Mix well.
  6. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
  7. prepare topping. Add flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt and room temperature butter to a small bowl. Mix well.
  8. Drop in chunks over the top of the batter.
  9. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the bread comes out clean.
  10. Remove from oven and place on cooling rack for 10 minutes.
  11. Turn bread out onto cooling rack and let cool or in  our case slice, spread butter over warm bread and enjoy!

Source

slightly adapted from Taste of Southern

Leave a Reply

