Lesson Planning Art

  • Highhill Education has started Lesson-Planning Linkup and today’s topic is Art Curriculum. I started out thinking that this year I would treat our art time more like an art class. I did some searching and found that Home Art Studio had DVDs with art broken into different lessons. I quickly ordered 3rd through 5th grade all the while thinking this was exactly what I was looking for. I pictured us sitting around the T.V. watching the lesson and afterwards happily doing the project just like in the video. Well this lasted about two whole lessons. Don’t get me wrong, I like the DVDs, but for us, we enjoy adding our own creativity to our projects. I wanted to continue to use the DVDs and I will, I just had to come up with an idea that worked. After watching several lessons we decided to combine them into one project. Here is an example of combining several lessons.

DSC_0040-2

I have also been pinning like a mad woman in the art department. The kids and I will start working our way through our art board on Pinterest. I will also continue to make up notebooking sheets about different famous artist. I like to add interesting facts about the artist, the style they are known for, a picture of the artist, and some of the pieces they are known for. After working our way through the fact sheet, we pick a piece to use as inspiration for our own project. When we studied Van Gogh we chose The Starry Night.

DSC_0034

I also plan on using these art books by Usborne Art Treasury, Book of Art ideas, and Big Book of Things to Draw. The one thing I would still love to find is a great DVD on drawing. I would love it to have how to draw faces, how to shade, and how to draw realistic objects, so please, if you know of any, feel free to leave me a comment. I hope this post gives you some ideas to think about. Also, don’t forget to hop on over to Highhill Education to see what others are doing for art this year!

5 thoughts on “Lesson Planning Art

  1. I just lightly browsed your pinterest art page and am now going to visit several links. It looks like a great set of ideas. Your starry night pictures look wonderful and I’m also looking into the Usborne books. Thank you so much for linking to Highhill Education.

Leave a Reply

