Treasured Recipes Coffee Can Bread

DSC_0010-3

I have fond memories of my great grandmas. They both were such amazing women. Both of these lovely ladies loved to cook, and neither one went by a recipe. I’m fortunate enough that someone in our family took time to write a lot of these recipes down. These recipes are something I treasure, and they always take me back to a special time. I always seem to make these recipes when I want to find my way back to a simpler time. I have continued the traditions of my great grandmas with my children, and I love the new memories made around our table while eating these recipes. I thought I would share some of these recipes from time to time here in this space. I hope your family will enjoy them as much as mine. The first recipe I would like to share is coffee can bread. Yes this bread is made in coffee cans, but don’t worry it can be made in a bread pan.

DSC_0013-3

Coffee Can Bread

Ingredients:

1/2 cup warm water

1 package yeast

1/8 teaspoon ginger

5 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons oil

1 large can evaporated milk

1 teaspoon salt

4-4 1/2 cups flour

1. Mix warm water, yeast, ginger and 2 tablespoons sugar together in a small bowl. Let stand for 15 minutes.

2. Add 2 tablespoons sugar to mixture and let stand for 15 minutes.

3. Grease 3 coffee cans well.

4. Add 2 tablespoons oil, evaporated milk, 1 tablespoon sugar, salt and flour to the yeast mixture. Mix well.

5. Turn dough out onto counter and knead until elastic.

6. Split the dough into three equal parts and place in greased coffee cans.  Cover the top  of bread with grease. Grease lids and place loosely on top of coffee cans.

7. Let the dough rise to the top of the cans.

8. Remove lids and bake 1 hour in a 300 degree oven.

9. Cool for a few minutes then remove bread from cans.

10. Now if you’re impatient like me (hey in this case it pays off) slice bread, smother in butter, and enjoy!

Make sure your coffee cans are metal and don’t have a lip around the top. The lip won’t allow the bread to come out of the coffee cans.  If you can’t find coffee cans that will work, place bread into greased bread pans.

One thought on “Treasured Recipes Coffee Can Bread

Leave a Reply

